Leadership Awards

The State Alliance annually recognizes those state legislators who have shown support for initiatives that help Florida Ys successfully create positive change in our communities. For 2012, we are proud to announce our Leadership Awards:


Adam Putnam
Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services

Commissioner Putnam has a history of advocating for youth issues, first as a member of the Florida House, and then in the U.S. Congress. As the Commissioner of Agriculture, he also has made nutrition one of his top three priorities, particularly in schools.




Senator Anitere Flores
Majority Whip

A longtime YReads program supporter, Senator Flores has a strong history of filing bills aimed at protecting children from abuse, expanding access to online learning tools, and involving parents in the education of their children.





Dean Cannon
Speaker of the House

Speaker Cannon is a Youth in Government Alumni with a history of promoting Civics education in the school system.  He is the first two-time winner of the Servant Leadership Award.